11 years ago to the day, almost to the minute, I remember waking up and getting ready to head off to school. My wife and I had a 2-year-old son and a 2 month old daughter. We don’t normally turn on the television in the morning, but for some reason my wife turned on NBC as she was feeding our daughter. She stopped me in my tracks and  told me I had to watch. As I watched, the second plane flew into the Twin Tower. I couldn’t believe my eyes. Although the media was saying that there was no indication of what had happened, it was clear to my wife and I that we had been the victims of a terrorist attack.

September 11, 2001

September 11, 2001

I decided I still needed to go to school, but nobody could focus. School was cancelled, and everyone was sent home. I remember being glued to the television along with the entire country. Wherever I went, people were watching television. Even at work.

Like many people, I didn’t know anyone directly related to the nightmare of September 11, 2001, although I had heard of people who knew people. But, like so many other people, it didn’t matter. The attacks of September 11, 2011 affected me halfway across the country, just like so many millions of others.

Today as we honor yet another anniversary, I am shocked to think that it’s already been 11 years. My daughter is now 11, and my son is now 13. Life has gone on, but I remember that day so vividly.

Today, as I remember the horrors of 9-11, I am extremely thankful to the men and women of our armed services as well as the police and fire fighters that put their lives on the line for my freedoms every day.

