April 1 marks one of my favorite days of the year. April Fool’s Day has long been one of my favorite days, mostly because I like the idea of having no social boundaries for an entire day. It’s a day when even the strictest of bosses has to look the other way when it comes to office pranks. Like the time I got turned in to my boss for pulling a prank on an older co-worker. Hey, I said, you can’t do anything to me, today’s April 1…okay it didn’t go quite like that.

April Fools

So my co-workers got together and thought it would be a great idea if we pulled a prank on one of the guys that had been working there for years. Here’s the setup: one small woman hides in a recycling dumpster that is used as storage before paper is shredded. The storage container was supposed to be locked, but never was. She hid, and my job was to tell the co-worker that the lid was stuck and I couldn’t get it open. When he went to open the container, she was to jump out and scare him. All went exactly as planned, until she jumped out.

He got extremely scared, jumped back, clenched his fists, and got ready for a fight. We all had a great laugh and thought it was over, but he spent the next hour lecturing us about how people got hurt doing that kind of thing when he was growing up in Brooklyn. So, after an hour or being lectured (he never did report us to the boss), the life had been sucked out of everyone involved. It turns out, the joke was on us!

After that experience, I will never hide anyone in a trash can again. Mostly for my own livelihood. But hey, I suppose a good piece of scotch tape under a mouse sensor is still fair game.

Happy April Fool’s Day! Oh yeah, since we missed Easter, Happy Easter too! All of us at All American Inflatables hope that you had a great weekend full of fun, relaxation, and of course, pranks!

